Services

Direct Services

Feeling Blue? Need to Talk? Call our Hotline 301-738-CALL

Military Helpline

Donate Now - Secure Donations by Groundspring.org

   
Join Our Email List
Email:
   

MHA Programs

Adult Homeless Mental Health Services (AHMHS)

AHMHS offers case management and ongoing assistance to formerly homeless, mentally ill adults who are living independently in supportive housing. Case managers work to ensure program participants are connected to the resources they need and help them achieve self-sufficiency.

Program Director: Mary Olisa, molisa@mhamc.org

Friendly Visitor

Friendly Visitor offers friendship and support to elderly members of our community who are home-bound, isolated and often lonely. Each program participant is matched with a trained volunteer who shares similar interests. Volunteers visit participants each week, and unique friendships are formed.

Program Director: Tammy Schmidt, tschmidt@mhamc.org

HOPES (Hotline, Outreach & Programming for Emotional Support)

HOPES offers crisis intervention and supportive listening for people experiencing mental health challenges through MHA’s free, confidential, 24-hour hotline (301-738-CALL). HOPES also seeks to educate the community on mental health and wellness through “Red Flags,” a depression and suicide awareness program that serves middle and high school students, as well as conducts speaking engagements and outreach in the community on suicide, depression and anxiety.

Program Director: Rachel Larkin, rlarkin@mhamc.org

Kensington Wheaton Youth Services (KWYS)

Through KWYS, MHA works with Montgomery County Public Schools and the Department of Health and Human Services to offer services to help youth and families overcome obstacles that are in the way of student learning and growth. With short-term counseling, case management services, tutoring, educational workshops and after school programming, students improve school performance and families gain stability in their home lives.

Program Director: Karen Duffy, kduffy@mhamc.org


N*COMMON (New Capacity & Outreach for Multicultural Mental Health Opportunities Now)

N*COMMON provides clinical mental health services to low-income and uninsured Spanish- and French-speaking immigrants who are newly-arrived to the United States. Many program participants have experienced some form of trauma, either in their home country or during their immigration journey. N*COMMON therapists help them to heal and adjust to life in a new country. N*COMMON also creates internship opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students at MHA and partner nonprofits.

Program Director: Karishma Sheth, ksheth@mhamc.org

Representative Payee

Representative Payee serves low-income disabled adults who are unable to manage their federal benefits due to mental illness or physical disability. Program participants are matched with volunteers who create budgets, pay bills, manage funds and help participants gain financial stability.

Program Director: Patricia Berry, pberry@mhamc.org

Serving Together

Serving Together hosts information for the hundreds of resources that exist for veterans and service members in Montgomery County and Northern Virginia in one centralized location through its comprehensive online directory, ServingTogetherProject.org. It can be time-consuming and frustrating for veterans and service members to search and locate the appropriate resources. Serving Together seeks to solves that problem. Whether military members are searching for information on employment opportunities, health care, or housing, Serving Together guides veterans, military and their families to the resources they want. Serving Together also offers one-on-one peer navigation (301-738-7176).

Program Director: Jessica Fuchs, jfuchs@mhamc.org

Voices Versus Violence (VVV)

Through VVV, MHA works with youth dealing with behavioral issues at school and home, such as truancy, anger and bullying, to cultivate healthy attitudes and encourage positive life direction. VVV seeks to avert youth from coming into initial contact with the juvenile justice system and to reduce recidivism for youth who are already involved in the juvenile justice system by engaging with program participants and their families to address academic and mental health issues, as well as connect them to needed community resources through case management. VVV also provides educational presentations and training to youth and parents as well as school and community personnel.

Program Director: Jessica Soussana, jsoussana@mhamc.org